Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

Friday, February 2, 2018 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, February 3, 2018 - 8:00 pm
Gallo Center For the Arts

David Lockington, conductor
Dylana Jenson, violin


ShostakovichFestive Overture (7')
Prokofiev • Violin Concerto No. 2 (26')


Tchaikovsky ∙ Symphony No. 5 (44')

It’s easy to fall in love while listening to this collection of passionate pieces from some of Russia’s greatest classical composers. Famed soloist Dylana Jenson returns to Modesto for a can’t miss – and MSO premier – performance of Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2. Perhaps one of his lesser-known pieces, Symphony No. 5 has been characterized as “classic Tchaikovsky”: well crafted, colorfully orchestrated and delightfully melodic. An overall spirit of triumph unifies this vibrant and festive program.

High Notes